Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Top Spin 4 Demo Review

After playing a few tiebreaks on the Top Spin 4 demo, I really enjoyed the game. I think 2k did a good job of capturing each players swing style, and the graphics look great. I also like the improved serving and the fact that this game moves faster than top spin 3, which in my opinion was too slow for a tennis game. There is one major thing that I feel 2k needs to improve with top spin regarding the player's footwork. Like a real tennis match, each player needs to split step as their opponent strikes the ball (a small jump to make an explosive movement toward the ball). Players in top spin have no split step and I feel it makes the footwork in the game look strange and not fluid. Other than the problem with footwork and split steps, 2k did a great job of improving from Top Spin 3 and I feel Top Spin 4 is hands down the best tennis game on XBOX360 and PS3. Let me know what you guys think!!

MLB 2k11 Demo Review

After playing a few games of the MLB 2k11 demo, I didn't find it to be all that impressive. Unfortunately, it seems 2k did not put much effort into improving this years game from the last. Graphics look the same, not saying they're horrible, just no improvement, the gameplay seems a bit slow and boring, and the game still has quite a few bugs. Also, the fact that there are no ejections, is going to be a problem for online play like it was in 2k10. If someone is losing, they're just going to hit batter repeatedly until you quit or they get bored and quit. I don't know why 2k didn't address this problem, but I guess it's something we'll just have to deal with. Overall the game just didn't leave much of an impression on me and doesn't seem worth it to buy the new version. Let me know what you guys think!!

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Nail'd Demo Review

So Nail'd has been out since November, 2010, but just recently had its demo released. The game is an off road racer that is known for its fast-paced action packed racing. After playing the demo, I didn't find it to be all that enjoyable. I personally am not a big fan of the unrealistic arcade style games, so this one wasn't really for me. The game isn't bad, and if you are interested in an arcade racing game, the high speeds and ridiculous jumps might be something you are looking for. The environment and tracks look good, but the player models and the vehicles don't really match up. Also, if you do find the game to be enjoyable, it doesn't seem like the game would have much of a lasting affect and could grow old quickly. Again, Nail'd isn't the game for me, but I could see how others could find it to be enjoyable. Let me know what you guys think!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Fight Night Champion Demo

Overall, this demo was great!!! The download size is a little over 1 GB and it consists of a fight now mode and also an online versus mode so you can test your boxing skills against fighters all over the world. For a demo, this game has a lot to offer while backing it up with some great gameplay. The physics look good, the atmosphere of the game feels good, and the graphics are amazing. As your boxer takes damage and gets cut up, blood will run down his face, on to his chest and shorts, and drip on the canvas. The amount of detail to the fighters and venues are top notch as well. The new "total punch control" is good and easy to use as well. You can either use the right thumb-stick to through punches or you can use the face buttons (A, X, B, and Y) if you prefer. This is just a small taste of the many great features this game has to offer. If you haven't tried the demo, I would strongly recommend it. For any boxing fan or fight fan, this game is definitely worth a buy. Leave a comment letting me know what you guys think!

Friday, January 28, 2011

Bulletstorm Demo Review

Before playing the Bulletstorm demo, I hadn't heard too much about this game. After playing the demo for a short time, I really liked what I saw. It was a nice change from normal FPS games with multiple ways to kill an enemy. From grabbing on to an enemy, kicking, sliding, shooting, etc. there were so many ways to get a kill. Also, the guns on this game were great. Each one had something different about it and all the guns could be powered up by pressing the RB button to make them do something even better. The game felt pretty fast paced and it might be worth buying to see what the campaign and multiplayer modes have to offer. Although the demo is one level which is only a few minutes, it is definitely worth trying and this game could potentially turn out to be a lot of fun and maybe worth a buy. Give this one a try guys and let me know what you think!

Thursday, January 27, 2011

Breach Multiplayer Demo Review

Breach is an arcade game on xbox 360 that just recently released on January 26th, 2011. Before you consider wasting 1200 MP on this horrible game, I strongly recommend trying the FREE 30 minute multiplayer trial. Breach has some of the worst gameplay I've seen in a long time and also has a fully destructible environment, that the developers did a horrible job of creating. On top of the horrible gameplay, the servers were HORRIBLE! The framerate was a joke and the demo was almost unplayable. The only slightly positive thing the game had going for it was the way to take cover and turn around a corner to shoot. Other that that, there really isn't much more to be said about this one. If you want to waste time downloading this demo for 30 minutes of disappointing gameplay, then this may be what you are looking for. If anyone has any thoughts or found this game somewhat enjoyable, I'd like to hear your opinions!! 

Crysis 2 Multiplayer Demo Review

After playing the Crysis 2 multiplayer demo, I wasn't very impressed. Some positives thoughts I had about the game were the graphics. It really looks great, but I didn't feel like the gameplay was good enough to go with it. I also liked the way the map was set up and I'm expecting the full game will have a larger variety of some pretty decent maps. As for the gameplay, I just don't see myself going back to this game over and over like I would with Black Ops or another top FPS. It just seemed like the game was too quiet and uneventful and didn't have the feel that a top notch FPS should have. Overall the game was kind of boring and I wouldn't recommend buying it. If you have any thoughts on the game feel free to leave a comment!